On Perpetuating Stereotypes

There are a lot of things that get me fucking annoyed.  Running out of tequila, sexual harassment, Sarah Palin, the list goes on.  But right up there is this whole fucked up idea of gender-stereotyped toys.  Over in America’s Air-Force Base in the North Atlantic, we have a catalogue store called Argos, and it’s a perpetual source of raised blood pressure (not too bad in itself as mine when last measured two weeks ago was a measly 111/67) to see the boys’ toys versus the girls’ toys.

Today’s fleck-spittled moment comes from a TV show with “Toy Wars” – boys v girls.  Sure enough the boys have cool gadgets, science toys and action kit.  What do you think the girls have?  Fucking Bratz dolls and a dog with a pink collar whose full repertoire of movement is to take a piss.

Another fucking gender stereotype reinforcement

Case in point.  Boys are cool and do fun exciting things, therefore dinosaurs are fucking great and appropriate for all members of that gender.  Girls on the other hand are stupid and wimpy and only interested in pink fluffy fucking bunny rabbits.

And don’t even get me started on the absolutely despicable pink microscope peddled by that haven of hateful imprinting, Toys R Us.  Are girls utterly incapable of doing science unless they have pink shit to do it with?  Man, maybe that’s why I’m such a shit scientist – because I don’t have a pink rock-hammer or air-scribe.

I need another drink.

This entry was posted in Drunken Rants, Oh noes! I can't do science 'cause I'm a GIRL!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On Perpetuating Stereotypes

  1. Yep! This is so hard to get around too. Not just for the parents, but because the relatives and friends of parents just buy whatever (unless you are my brother who purposefully looks for the most annoying, noisiest toys he can find).

    My daughter was 2nd born, so she plays with big brother’s cars. We get her toy animals and shit, BUT, she still loves “girly” things and the color pink. We have no idea where it fucking came from, wifey is not girly at all and they didn’t watch much TV as babies (though they do a bit more now). There is something ingrained in there, i don’t understand it, but its there.

  2. GingerSpicedRum says:

    I was just having a similar discussion w/ my roommate, who was shopping for a Christmas gift for a young girl. I picked up the coolest dino toy and was going bonkers over it, and she said, “It’s for a GIRL..” to which I responded, “Girls can like dinos, too!”

    Incidentally, I’m obsessed w/ both dinos AND girly things. But I’m always an outlier when it comes to gender norms/expectations of behavior.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention On Perpetuating Stereotypes | -- Topsy.com

  4. biochembelle says:

    Totally agree. My 2-year old niece is getting a rocket playset from my spouse and me. We agreed it looked fun and cool. Plus nice that ThinkGeek considers the possibility a girl might like to play with it. I think the parents won’t think anything of it: mom’s a cop, dad completely corrupted his little sister (that’d be me) with sci-fi and all sorts of ‘boy’ nonsense as a kid.

  5. You realize therefore significantly in relation to this topic, made me individually consider it from numerous various angles. Its like women and men aren’t involved except it is something to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs excellent. All the time deal with it up!

Leave a Reply

